New blog name, old tricks

Posted on January 13, 2013

0



I decided to change the name of my blog to Trier Equals Winner. I accidentally did the last one in my name, and as i’m one of only two people (as far as I can tell) in the world who have my name I felt like I needed some more privacy. I wanted to feel like I could write whatever I wanted, without me self censoring, re-editing, setting blog posts to private and generally being a bit paranoid about whether I was being either a bit stupid saying certain things in a public forum, or being untrue to myself because I wasn’t putting things out there the way I would if I had total anonymity.

This blog really saw me through some challenging times at the back end of last year. It was kind of my friend, and the more people who liked posts and started following me the more conscious I became about the power of blog writing. It felt validity was finally in my court and that was exactly what I needed at that time. I even wrote one blog post ‘My bright is too slight to hold back all my dark‘ which was a title that would mean something to a certain someone, should they have googled my name and come across that post. I guess I was aware how transparent I was being, and felt like I could communicate to someone I cared about through my writing – not the best replacement for just talking to that person in the flesh. Only we’d not spoken since May 2012 and I didn’t think ever would again.

I ended up seeing said person last night. And it was pretty fucking incredible if i’m going to be frank with you. More on how this happened HERE. Turns out he admitted to having searched my name regularly to see what i’ve been up to. Something somewhat comfortable given our spatial distance. The fact he didn’t find my blog throughout November and December just makes me feel like I gained some of my privacy back.

The new name is designed to represent everything I want 2013 to be. By being a trier, I mean putting myself out there. Overcoming fears. Taking the plunge. Being confidant in ways I’ve perhaps forgotten I can be, and generally just being more present and go-getting. This is how I think I will win the life I want for myself in 2013.

