My 100th Post: Liebster Awards My Q&A

Posted on September 7, 2013

3



I HAVE BEEN LUCKY TO BE NOMINATED FOR A LIEBSTER AWARD BY ALYGEORGES

Take a moment and visit her awesome blog: http://alygeorges.wordpress.com/

The Liebster Award Rules: 

  1. You must link back the person who nominated you.
  2. You must answer the 10 Liebster questions given to you by the nominee before you.
  3. You must pick 10 bloggers to be nominated for the award with under 200 followers
  4. You must come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
  5. You must go to their blogs and notify your nominees.

1)      How has your childhood affected you?

The biggest thing I am starting to realise as an adult is just how much childhood as affected me as an adult. From the experiences I had moving around quite a lot as a kid, to all the travelling to different countries, and being half Maltese so visiting family over there every year, and never quite feeling 100% British. This is probably why I have a massive travel bug inside of me.

I also think that when I was sent away to boarding school when I was 7, that kick started a subconscious defense mechanism in me, which developed the strategy in my head that as I grew up dictated how I responded to all things – including a massive need to be liked and wanted, and a deep rooted fear of abandonment.

2)      If you went back in time, is there one particular thing you would do differently?

I would travel back to when I was a teenager, and be nicer to my Mum. And stop ordering shit clothes from rubbish catalogues (which got me into debt before I was 18.)

3)      Is there any particular experience that has made a significant impact on your life?

When I went to Tanzania when I was 24 I realised that you don’t need material possessions to be happy. That in fact, you could almost have nothing (bar the essentials such as food, water and shelter of course) and survive just fine – and that true happiness came from within. The Western world has created a culture of need, and that need feeds the economy, and lines the pockets of a very select few.

Westerners have a higher rate of depression than the developing world. What does that say?

4)      If there was one thing you could do to make the world a better place, what would it be?

Fart a little less 🙂

5)      What are the three most important things in your life?

1. My Family & Friends

2. My Home

3, Myself

6)      What characteristic do you admire most in a person?

Inner strength / dignity / resolve

Communication

Openness and open-mindedness

Ability to admit when wrong

Ability to fix things – interpersonal and actual physical

Humour

Kindness

7)      Is there anything you feel people don’t know about you that you wished they knew?

I wish people knew that sometimes I’m scared too. That the confidant, bold, dominant, capable person they see on the outside just wants to be looked after and told what to do sometimes. This is why I started writing my blog, so I could just be myself – the light and the dark – without fear of judgement, criticism or doing all my friends’ heads in.

What i’ve learned along the way is that I have a great group of close friends, male and female. Who also ‘get it’. All in our early to mid 30s we’re going through the same thing, this voyage of self discovery… coping with depression, anxieties, loneliness, fears about the future… wondering when (or if) it’s all going to end! We’ve had these societal conventions pumped into us from a young age, passed down by the generation before us – and we just don’t live that way anymore. So we’re fighting ingrained belief systems against a very different reality!

8)      What’s your favourite pastime?

Lying on a comfortable sunbed on a beach, in a really really hot country just as the sun is starting to go down, and the world is cloaked in that awesome orange glow. And I’m all blissed out, relaxed, warm, and happy.

Haven’t had that in a really long time, actually.

Is that a pastime? If not, then i’ll go with playing lawn bowles.

9)      If you had a chance to dine with three famous people, dead or alive, who would they be and what would you say to them?

Louis Theroux – to pick his brains on the weirdest and most wonderful people he’s ever met

Uri Geller – to find out whether there is life after death

Stephen Hawking – to get him to help me understand black holes!

10)  Do you have a favourite quote? If so, what does it state?

‘Knowing how to be solitary is central to the art to loving. When we can be alone, we can be with others without using them as an escape’ – Bell Hooks. (more on Bell Hooks here)

I’ll reveal who i’m passing the baton over to on another post, with my questions to them.

This was fun! (even if no one reads this!)

Posted in: Journal, Journeys, Random