Inventive Blogger Award: My 5 Nominees

Posted on January 31, 2014

4



the inventive blogger award

A new chain letter blogger award was started at Christmas, ‘The Inventive Blogger Award’ by Don Charisma and a few weeks ago I was nominated for one by Aly Georges – thank you! It really means alot that someone cares enough to read my blog and then go one step further and nominate me. Not sure what I mean by chain letter blogger awards? You can read a nice description by Jo Savill HERE.

Chain letter awards: ok so they’re ‘just’ another blogger to blogger thing, a meme if you will – and some of them are a bit mental, expecting you to nominate 15 people, which I think is too much.  Plus if you’ve read Jo Savill’s post about them, you’ll have learned that there are literally (likely anyway) millions of people who have won the Leibster Award, for example. Myself included (read mine here). But when it’s only 5 people, then of all the blogs that Aly has come across she rated mine as good enough to qualify in her top 5. She might be the only person on the planet who feels this way for all I know (!!) but even still, whilst I don’t write my blogs to get accolades and recognition, that still means something to me. So thank you 🙂

The rules of Inventive Blogger Award? You just have to list the top 5 things you love about blogging, then nominate 5 other blogs and explain why you think they deserve to win and let them know (so the chain can pass on). So here we go:

Five things I love about blogging:

1. Sometimes my head just fills up with all these thoughts and I need to expel them. This blog is where I do that. And I always feel better after.

2. Sharing experiences, emotions and advice with total strangers.

3. Getting feedback on my writing: I don’t write in order to gain this (and actually I rarely get any comments!) but when I do it gives me a warm fuzzy feeling 🙂

4. The blogging world opens up communication globally between every day people. I remember a time where you could only hear the voices of ‘the chosen ones’ ie journalists and professional writers. Magazine’s and books basically. Before the internet the only other way to learn about other people from different cultures was to get a French pen pal, read the letters pages in the newspaper or go travelling. Now everyone has a platform to share their own unique voice, and that is really very cool.

5. And finally, without meaning to sound sycophantic, blogging for me personally is a way of documenting my life, and helping others in the process. I guess I say sycophantic because I also want this evidence to look back on someday. I like comparing how I was feeling to the present day, or seeing my own personal progress I guess. And at times when I thought I was going mad, was the only one that felt that way, the feedback from the blogger community helps me realise that I’m not the only one. And that there is no shame.

My nominees:

These are the 5 blogs I read regularly, and I think they’re inventive because they all have their own unique voice sharing their personal experiences with the world in a way that inspire others. This is how they describe themselves:

1. The Better Man Projects:

“The world needs better men. This blog is simply my journey to becoming a better man every day and the lessons I learn along the way.”

2. Yallah Bye:

“In 2012 I bought a one-way ticket to Casablanca, Morocco, sold my car, picked up an Arabic dictionary and enrolled in an archaeological field school in the Middle East…” READ MORE HERE

3. My Potential One True Love

“I have selected thirty matchmakers- My Cilla’s, from all walks of life, each of whom will set me up with someone they think could be my Potential One True Love- POTL.” READ MORE HERE

4. Not So Sex In the City

“I’m a twenty-something girl that has had her fair share of bad relationships and bad sexual experiences so I decided to share them with the world! (That’s you guys!)” READ MORE HERE

5.Gretchen Leary

“My name is Gretchen Leary, I am twenty seven years old, and I have Aspergers Syndrome.” READ MORE HERE

🙂

Directions for you to accept the The Inventive Blogger Award

1. Select the blog(s) you think deserve the The Inventive Blogger Award.

2. Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen- there are no minimum or maximum number of blogs required- and ‘present’ the blog(s) with their award.

3. Include in your blog post *FIVE* things that you enjoy about blogging.

4. Let the blog(s) that you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the instructions with them- (please don’t alter the instructions or the badge!)

5. Come over and say hello to the originator of the “The Inventive Blogger Award” via this link: http://DonCharisma.org/2013/12/24/christmas-awards-the-inventive-blogger-award

6. And as a winner of the award- please add a link back to the blog that presented you with this award, and then proudly display the award on your blog.

Congratulations to all the nominees.

Posted in: Random