Why You Can’t Stand To Be Alone – And How To Learn To Love It

Posted on September 10, 2014

0


I am reading this incredibly powerful – in fact life changing – book by Osho, called Love, Freedom and Aloneness: the Koan of Relationships. Check it out here: http://www.amazon.com/Love-Freedom-Aloneness-Koan-Relationships/dp/0312291620

Every night I look forward to going to bed, so I can spend an hour devouring it. I read certain pages or sections over and over until its essence really soaks in. It’s beautiful.

I have found myself learning so much and gaining incredible wisdom from reading this book. It’s really got me thinking about this journey i’ve been on the last few years, and has helped me join some of the dots up. If you’re interested in the philosophy of love and relationships, mental health, happiness and attraction, this is the book for you. Buy it now! I can’t recommend it enough. For some people it might be a bit too out there, but for those who read this blog, if you relate to any of my struggles and the way that I think about them, then it’s definitely for you.

On that quest, I also came across this post on the Huffington Post about how to cope with being alone. I found these two paragraphs particularly insightful:

Many people who struggle with feelings of loneliness can link their struggles to deeper roots. According to Rosenberg, loneliness is a feeling fueled by trauma, loss and grief, a lack of self-esteem, and insecurity. Those who lead healthy, balanced lives are better equipped to face these negative experiences because they have both internal and external resources that help guide them through the process — from a sense of community to a strong and positive self-concept.

 

“Loneliness is a normal part of the human existence,” Rosenberg says. “We all feel lonely, but chronic, pathological loneliness is a deeply embedded pattern that is self-reinforcing. It’s a self-fulfilling prophecy. Healthy, resilient people respond to normal loneliness by resolving it. Unhealthy people become overwhelmed by it.”

You can read the rest of this article here: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/09/09/how-to-be-alone-loneliness-coping-strategies-tips_n_5737600.html?ir=Healthy%20Living&utm_campaign=090914&utm_medium=email&utm_source=Alert-healthy-living&utm_content=Title

