The Halloween Ghost

Posted on October 31, 2016

0


I experienced my own ghost this halloween.

I don’t really know what to say. Things seemed great. I met a great guy. He said that proximity didn’t matter in the grand scheme of things. He seemed to be chasing me and we had lively, wonderful conversations that put smiles on our faces.

It’s pretty perplexing when someone just stops talking to you. At first you don’t think much of it but then after the usual time pattern you had gotten used to, you realise that they’re gone. And a strange grief washes over, one you feel you shouldn’t have and you feel silly but you genuinely do notice their absence from your phone.

This last week I have been going round and round in my mind (in between the million and one other things i’ve been doing), was it something I said? It’s funny how us relatively self-confidant types get our ego’s knocked the moment someone goes and ghosts us. We wander what is was that we did, when really it will be a whole bunch of other things not even connected to us that caused them to disappear.

I was in the bath the other night (this post almost got called “the bath whisperer”…) and a voice came to me and told me what I needed to know. I didn’t do anything to put him off, and it’s important us gals stand strong on that and believe in ourselves. It’s just the situation. And it’s fine. FINE 🙂 I can handle it. It’s just life. Sometimes people stop talking to each other. It’s happened before and it will happen again.

But it’s not fine.

I thought I had met someone special.

 

 

