Chapter 3. My first University lecture.

Posted on April 21, 2017

0


My first University lecture.

In the same week as Death and Micro Romance, I delivered my first student lectures at a university in London. It was exhilarating, I enjoyed the classroom setting, I was nervous as hell, grieving but trying not to, anxious and well, a bit down and tired. I was having a stressful week. I overcompensated by trying to be funny and bubbly in my lecture (never a good idea), and supplement that with some of my anti-anxiety medication to take the edge off.

The lecturer who invited me there fed back to me: ‘bubbly is good, but it can lose some of the smarter students as they don’t take you seriously’. Ouch.

Christmas.

The bit leading up to it was joyful. Happiness, friends, laughter and all the things that Christmas should be about. Warm fuzzy feelings in abundance and I was very happy. It was a great time in 2016’s calendar of colourful events.

That all said, I was having Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) which required me to note down and explore all the activities or events that make me feel edgy.

This then highlighted a number of things to me around my friendships/acquaintances……… which led to me not being very happy, fairly isolated, and pretty alone.

Hello 2017.

Stay tuned! Chapter 4, Friendships & Acquaintances, will land same time tomorrow.

Posted in: Journal